1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

When to change strings for recording

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by funkybass, Oct 29, 2013.

1. funkybass

funkybass

Oct 19, 2006
    Indiana
    Monday my band is recording a song. It will be my first time in the studio. I'm going to put a new set of hi beams on my bass for the recording, and was wondering when I should change them. We are having a 2 hour practice Monday, so I thought maybe I'd put them on before practice and break them in a little.

2. sounds good. just make sure you have time to let them stretch out. after you put then on and tune up, don't be afraid to tug on them a little and retune. by tug, i mean pull the strings between the neck and bridge away from the body of the guitar. this will help them stretch a little and a 2 hour practice will help as well.

disclaimer:i have little to no experience with dr's. i've always done this with my d'addario nickels with great results for 10+ years.

3. Depends on what sound you like.

Playing them in for a couple of hours is good if you like the sound of fresh strings. That ought to let them stretch in and get fairly stable.

OTOH, I'd leave my 40-year-old strings on my P-bass to record with it. (Member, Benevolent and Protective Brotherhood of Dead String Fanciers.)

4. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Commercial User

Sep 9, 2007
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Manager of Digital Brand Development and Product Development at GHS Strings
    Many times prior to the studio, I'll string a new set up the night before and tune it a step up. That allows it to stretch overnight, at which point I'll then tune them to "standard" in the morning and won't have an issue.

5. funkybass

funkybass

Oct 19, 2006
    Indiana

I definitely need a fresh set for this recording.