1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

When to stop studying with someone

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by zackattack, Dec 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. zackattack

zackattack Supporting Member

Apr 8, 2006
    San Francisco
    I’m currently studying with a reasonably high profile player. I’m enjoying the lessons, and taking something from them, but I have a nagging feeling in the back of my mind that I could be getting more from someone else.

The teacher I’m with clearly has a set method that he runs everyone through and doesn’t seem to be tailoring anything to me, just validating that I’m ready to move on to the next stage. The lessons themselves aren’t hugely informative, we’re basically just reading through the handout he gives me and checking my understanding.

That said, I am making progress in an area that I haven’t before so clearly the structure is working for me.

I have a few questions, any anecdotal experience anyone could share would be amazing.

How do you figure out if a teacher is really working for you or if you’ve taken everything you can from them?
    If you decide to stop lessons, how do you go about doing it?
    Does anyone have an experience with taking lessons from multiple teachers at the same time? How did it work out?

2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.