Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

When would you pick Ab over G#

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Lewi_wilko, Jan 25, 2006.

1. Lewi_wilko

Lewi_wilko

Mar 24, 2004
    Hello, this is something that has bugged me ever since i started learning music theory, why would someone choose to call a note flat or sharp e.g. Ab when they would say G#? Is there any reason? If they are the same thing why have two differant ways of saying it?

Thank you in advance.

2. It helps when trying to communicate with other players.

Just as an example:

If you are in the key of E major the scale wouldn't be
    notes E F# Ab A B C# D# E

it would be
    E F# G# A B C# D# E

G is the 3rd in the key of E, A is the fouth in the key of E. If you wanted a flat 4th for the key of E it would be Ab, G# is the major 3rd.

Or in a B fully diminished (edit) chord:
    it would be:
    B D F Ab

not:
    B D F G#

becasue G# is Maj 6th in the key of B and Ab is the diminshed 7th. G# B D F would be a G# fully dimished minor chord. The same tones in each chord, written differently.

Does that help at all???

3. Lewi_wilko

Lewi_wilko

Mar 24, 2004
  4. Kronos

Kronos

Dec 28, 2005
    Philadelphia, PA
    It's stuff like this that has me baffled with actual written music. I've never taken a class since grade school, and this stuff scares me. If it sounds the same, it seems to me that the only difference is what scale it falls into.

5. EmmSee

EmmSee

May 23, 2004
    Boston, MA
    If one of those notes in is the key ... it will be so. Either flat or sharp accordingly.

Generally speaking if you're writing a free line and you're using passing tones from one chord tone or scale tone to the next, if you're going DOWN use flat, if you're going UP use sharp.

like if I have a piece in C .... and I start a little note sequence:
    C D D# E G Gb F