Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

When you play, doesn't it have that annoying sound?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Phunky, Aug 5, 2004.

1. Phunky

Phunky Guest

Aug 1, 2004
    Sweden
    I'm a newbie, and i was wondering that when you switch fast to a different fret (for an example) it will sound like "svish" and get really annoying, i guess it's the strings, i have an old bass, what kinda strings do you recommend?

2. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland

I'm guessing it's a result of having roundwound strings on your bass!

If you want to avoid that string noise you can get various other strings, flatwound, half round, some coated strings will do away with it.

However, all of these are IMHO a compramise and will affect the tone of the strings - ie flatwounds won't 'svish' but aren't quite as bnright as roundwounds!

I use roundwounds myself, you just have to practise your technique and minimise it (and live with what's left I'm afraid). Otherwise try other strings (tried flatwounds - didn't like em!)

Not sure what's available in Sweden - EBS strings perhaps? Try some fresh rounds.....and then maybe some flats (depending on money....) and see what you like! :)

3. De Teng

De Teng

Oct 27, 2003
    Utrecht, Holland
    Just practice until you don't hear it anymore. :rolleyes:

4. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    It's called finger noise. Fresh rounds tend to have MORE of it, actually. You can turn down the treble on your amp or the tone knob on your bass to reduce it. It's mostly a technique thing -- don't move up and down the neck with your fingers on the strings, unless you're actually sliding a note.

5. T. Alan Smith

T. Alan Smith

Sep 9, 2001
    Yup. Sounds like a technique issue. Keep practicing and go to an instructor.

6. vene-nemesis