1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where are the British brands?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PennyroyalWe, Dec 13, 2020.

1. PennyroyalWe

PennyroyalWe

Sep 2, 2018
    Oregon
    Bit of a shower thought today; why aren’t there more (any?) MAJOR British bass/guitar manufacturers? When it come to amps they’ve got some legendary giants with Vox, Marshall, and Orange all hailing from Britain. Yet, the only British guitar/bass brands that I know of (not to say that’s a fully comprehensive knowledge) are Burns and Chowny, both of which I would consider pretty niche. Is it because of some comparative advantage in manufacturing electronics, prior to outsourcing manufacturing to the Far East? Some laws or regulations that made instrument making less lucrative?

on a side note, for years after I started playing I had thought that Rickenbacker was British, because Brits are who seemed to always be using them. The jangle of the British Invasion is a Ric guitar, Macca, Chris Squire, Lemmy, etc. Kinda blew my mind when I found out Ric is American.

2. christle

christle

Jan 26, 2002
    Canada
    Check out Overwater and Alpher.

3. 80jazz

80jazz

Jun 28, 2008
    Kansas
    Is Waterstone still over there?

PennyroyalWe likes this.
  4. PennyroyalWe

PennyroyalWe

Sep 2, 2018
    Oregon
    Nice basses, but not what I would call major manufacturers. Those are both what I would consider boutique brands, with their most “affordable” models starting around $3k. I had meant run of the mill production brands that you would expect to find on Sweetwater, MF, or hanging on a wall in GC.

Dynacord and murphy like this.
  5. KrzysztofSyposz

KrzysztofSyposz

Dec 3, 2020