1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where can I buy paper in oil capacitors???

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by dwc3690, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Anyone know some good websites?

Thanks,
    Dan C.

2. b_carville

b_carville

Jun 26, 2008
    Maybe Angela Instruments.

Their stock is always changing.Check their website.

3. Jim C

Jim C Is that what you meant to play or is this jazz? Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Bethesda, MD
  4. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut
    I don't get it. Why bother. A capacitor that functions as rated is a capacitor ... period. All the BS is just that.

5. +1. The signal you hear doesn't go through the cap anyway. Many seem to not realize this.

6. Jeez. I've been playing for 38 years and messing with the electronics almost as long and that had never struck me. I did know I couldn't hear the difference between cheap and expensive caps, but I thought that was from a 1969 MC5 concert in a small auditorium.

7. r379

r379

Jul 28, 2004
    Dallas, Texas
    I'll bet that was a loud show! I remember listening to their records way back when.

P.S. We just gave away our ages. That was so long ago many of our fellow TBers weren't even born yet.

8. Kick out the jams!!!:bassist:

9. So for instance. Every .047uf 100V 10% cap, regardless what it is made of will sound EXACTLY the same?

Thanks,
    Dan C.

10. Jim C

Jim C Is that what you meant to play or is this jazz? Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Bethesda, MD
    This will be a huge can o' worms, but having searched a huge number of threads here as well as the associated links from suppliers and test reports my condensed version is: