1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where do i go from here??

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by OllieGrackle, Nov 8, 2006.

1. Hey guys,

heres the deal:
    I have been playing in a band for almost 4 years now, but have only been playing bass for 5, and now i have a dilemma: all of my basslines (some decently complicated) have been taught to me by the songwriter/guitarist (15+ yrs experience)with very little of my own input. I feel like i have mastered 15-20 phrases of a foreign language without knowing little if any mechanics of the language. From the outside i look good--and have even been complimented on my playing at shows, but i feel like i dont know much besides the fretboard and trying to follow root notes.

Now, i want to improvise, contribute more, develop my own style, and be able to hang in a "jam" but feel really stuck, absolutely limited, intimidated and frustrated.

Where should i go from here?
    Thanks in advance!

2. 64jazzbass

64jazzbass

Sep 5, 2002
    Chicago, Il
    Try "The Improviser's Bass Method" by Chuck Sher, or "Serious Electric Bass" by Joel DiBartolo. They are very comprehensive and take quite a bit of work to get through but it is well worth it. You need an understanding of scales, chords, harmony, rhythm. Train your ear by listening to CD's and learn the bass parts on your own without help from tabs. This is only a start. It will take time, but at least you know you can physically play the instrument, so the mechanics are probably there already. Good Luck!

3. BassChuck

BassChuck Gold Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati