Where do I start

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by waytoodeep03, Apr 18, 2005.

1. I am just getting into the bass world. What kind of bass amp should I look at(model name etc) I have a 5 string bass and I want something that can handle low b with ease and also sound clean and clear.

Where do I start? My budget right now is $500 but I can probably save a couple 100 or so if needed.
  2. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Its a bit over your budget, but Avatar 212 with the Ashdown they have in their special deal. It will be about $600 though... Looking used is a good option too.
  3. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I suggest Hartke amps and cabs. They're rather vanilla, but they're clear, can handle a low B, and are very moderately priced.

Of couse, you can do really well for yourself perusing the Talkbass and Dudepit classifieds.
  4. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

If a 2x12 with 300W is too much for you, maybe some kind of combo amp with 100W or so and a 12" or 15" speaker.
  5. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Nothing is TOO much :smug: . But seriously, we kinda need to know if you are gigging or if you just need something for practice.
  6. I will be in a church setting but they use a p.a. so i would need something for a monitor
  7. KrnMackMattsta

Apr 14, 2005
    well i can tell you 1X12 combo wont work lol. I also play in the church and my 120watt amp does NOT suffice at all.
  8. konfishily

Jan 24, 2004
    Brooklyn, NY
    You could try and look into a hefty combo. The ampeg BA115HP is pretty good, i think that should be in your price range. 220 watts and the 15'' speaker will handle the low B.
  9. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO