Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Where do you go to get picked up?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Obsius29A, Nov 25, 2003.

1. Obsius29A

Obsius29A

Dec 20, 1999
    Huntington, NY
    How do you guys generally go about joining a band? I know that when I try to find a quick gig as a bass player it is not all that difficult. But finding a worthwhile band to be dedicated to is difficult- and it's even more difficult when I'm playing guitar in a band to find a dedicated bass player.

Let's share stories about joining bands- I've had some funny experiences lately. Also if any NYC area bassists are itching to work on some very cool music, please let me know.

2. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    Ask, talk, look everywhere! You neverknow where you will find other musicians worth dealing with. The band I'm in now consists of the following:
    guitarist - met him in law school never knew he played guitar until I knew him for 2 years.
    drummer - played with him over a decade ago - happened to find his parents' old address in my old address book I was going to throw out - he was there for the day.
    guitarist - answered an ad on a guitar shop bulletin board.

Ya never know ...:D

3. Obsius29A

Obsius29A

Dec 20, 1999
    Huntington, NY
    Good call! A good friend of mine met a kid at a Rush concert and then happened to find out they went to school together. They've been in a band for 2 years now.

4. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    By the way, not sure what area you are looking to play, but our band is playing in Bridgeport, CT Saturday night (check out gig calendar). A couple of friends should be stopping by who own a music store in the area, and who have lots of contacts.

5. Obsius29A