Where do you keep your bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by slickhare, May 22, 2005.

1. slickhare

Feb 2, 2005
    i'm tryin to figure out the best way to keep my bass protected from the dust and other flying particles yet still at hand if i have a few to just thump away. i tried keeping it in the gig bag but i didn't feel comfortable leaning it on the wall or other assorted things in my room, i also tried putting it in the big bulky case with the fuzzy interior that smells really good, but it's such a hassle to put it in and out of that thing :rolleyes: so currently it's sitting on my stand and with brand new strings and coat of wax i'm worried. how can i remedy this dilemma?
  2. superfly

Aug 4, 2004
    I understand your worry. But we can all drive ourselves nuts worrying about stuff like that.
    Actually to the point of not enjoying the instrument.
    I am a former drummer who was quite worried about my expensive gear getting dinged and scratched while transporting from gig to gig etc. I had some real expensive stuff too(DW drums, Ludwig drums, Vintage Rogers and Ludwig kits). All in hard cases, but still the anxiety.
    But it just isn't worth the worry and anxiety it all causes.

Just enjoy playing the instrument. It is a physical, hands on instrument and should be enjoyed that way.
    Nicks and dings are gonna show up whether you are aware of them or not.
    I hang my Sterling sometimes on a wall, and sometimes it rests in the case.
    All you can do is try a bit to be careful, but don't let it stress you out and take away from the joy of playing the instrument.
    I believe all cars were meant to be driven and all instruments were made to be played. :)
  3. [​IMG] ...Hope that works.
    I have this in the corner of my room. Used to have a single but then i got another bass!
    Best thing I've ever done to make sure my bass doesn't get mangled in a gig-bag or anything in my room.
  4. Nikolai

Apr 20, 2004