Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Where does a vintage groove go from here??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Contrapuntal, Oct 20, 2004.

1. Contrapuntal

Contrapuntal

Mar 1, 2004
    Toronto
    I'm a dedicated but novice Jamerson/Jemmott/Dunn afficiando and am currently holding down the weekly-rehearsal/bi-monthly groove in a 12-piece R&B classic soul review band.

I'm playing a 2000 sunburst American Precision w/TI flats and after-market Fralin pickup through an Ampeg B2R+SABDDI/Ampeg SVT115. A tort pickguard gives me a little vintage look. (But the Am. Sunburst is a little TOO orange.)

I'm in the process of Frankenstein-ing a MIM White alder body with an Allparts vintage toned neck with the Fralin pickups.

But I'm starting too think that maybe I should invest in a higher-end bass.

So my question is (and I'm guessing its been asked just short of 1000 times)...

Is there a bass or bass config that will allow me to get a near-vintage P-Bass/Jamerson thump with a more modern hi-fi sound as well? I do love the vintage look...and I'm not looking to get a $3000 bass or something like Entwhistle's Vulture.

I guess I'm asking. (7 paragraphs later)..does a P/J combo really give a close sound to a straight P-bass sound but with the options of a sharper J sound too>

2. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    Those American P-bass Deluxes have all the P-sound... and you can dial in any modern tone you want. To me, they almost sound like a Warwick with the right adjustments... and it can pull of a sting ray...

if you want it, it can probably do it.

3. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis