Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Where does tone really come from?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jvacierto, Jun 25, 2002.

1. jvacierto

jvacierto

May 22, 2002
    Fort Wayne, IN
    I just wanted to run this thought past all of you and get your opinion. I've been playing bass for about 4 years or so now and I originally played sax, so learning to play bass was like entering a whole new world, especially when it came to gear. I had a friend with a precision style base and a trace elliot boxer. I've got my own gear now, a squier jazz bass and a carvin amp.

Anyway, on to what I wanted to say. There are stories of Charlie Parker playing literally any sax he could find after pawning off his own horns for drugs and still playing phenomenally (sorry about my spelling!) with his own personal tone. I've often thought this was because he had gotten to a level where it didn't matter what instrument he played, you could still tell it was him. Now, having gone into the bass/electric instrument world and running into all these gear options, I'm fascinated when someone says one thing is better than another. I'm not talking about quality wise, cause that's a whole other subject. But things that affect your tone: the amp, the pickups, the strings, your fingers. I've heard bass masters say that gear doesn't matter, that the tone is from your hands and whatnot. Here's the thing I'm getting at:

Have any of you ever thought that maybe some people's personal tone is easier to get with any gear than other people's? In other words, maybe it's easier to duplicate some people's tone with less expensive equipment while other people's tone require higher end equipment? Since my background is sax playing, I tend to simplify dialing in my bass tone as much as I can, I'm not too picky, so I can get a pretty consistent tone I like on just about any amp.