Where In NYC or metro area.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by WATCHTHECHORD, Nov 1, 2003.

Oct 28, 2003
    Where in NYC or the metro area can i go and look at and buy a nice bass...im looking to get the '75 Reissue Fender Jazz, or the G&L L2000, something in that ball park....please dont say sam ash, i want to be able to see about 8-10 different basses in the 1,000-1,500 dollar category..im willing to drive upto 90 min if i know the place is good with prices, im talking competetive pricing not price gouging...thanks to all. I am a beginner and want the best for my dollar...will be buying this bass next month.
  2. Davehenning

Aug 9, 2001
    Los Angeles
    you could try the guitar center in Long Island City. It is located at 34-17 48th St in Queens.

Good luck.

Oct 28, 2003
    Thanks dave for the quick response, i will give them a shot....hopefully salepeople are friendly as well.
  4. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    Rudy's on 48th St has a good selection of basses. Not sure if they stock G&L, but they have Lakland, MTD, Ken Smith. http://www.rudysmusic.com

NY Guitar and Bass Boutique on 9th b/w 50th and 51st has good stuff too, but less selection than Rudy's. They tend to have more higher end stuff (Elrick, FBass etc) but they do also stock G&L.

30th Street guitars, 30th b/w 7th and 8th has a good selection of new and used.
  5. pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    You say you want the 75RI, which one (finish) do you want? I know where there is a CAR 75RI special edition, A black w/black pickguard maple neck black blocks and a natural one is. which do you want?

Oct 28, 2003