Where should I start?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Arti, Oct 9, 2005.

1. Arti

Sep 23, 2005
    I would like to teach myself bass. What book or website would be good for a complete beginner?

Eventually I would like to take lessons, but that's not an option right now, since my schedule won't allow for much spare time. The little spare time I'll have won't be predictable enough for me to set up weekly appointments, or whatever.
  2. drumsnbass

drumsnbass Bassic User Supporting Member

Dec 13, 2004
    Seattle WA area
    try the lessons at activebass.com as there is a lot of TAB demo play a long there, and tab is easy. the most amazing part of it is the site will actually PLAY the lessons for you, with or withour backing music, and at a tempo you can handle. the only thing missing is the bouncing ball (whihc, if you need that, give up now!)

however, if you are really interested in the long term, tab is bad, as it make reading real music seem hard -- which it is not, all it takes is practice.

that said however, the lessons on activebass.com will definitely get you started -- i like to use them a lot. go to lessons, and click on most popular. the top 10-12 are all beginner related, so you can't go wrong there. one guy even did a nice progressive lesson over like 13 pages.
  3. Andy On Bass

Andy On Bass

Sep 10, 2005
    Check out the book Bass Guitar For Dummies. Don't let the name fool you, its a great book with a lot of valuable material! You should be able to find at a large number of online retailers. :)
  4. Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    The two posts above gave the same answers I would have. http://www.activebass.com/ and the book Bass Guitar for Dummies by Patrick Pfieffer (it was $16 USD on Amazon last time I picked up a copy, which was for my nephew). Two excellent resources for those just starting out. ;)

Good luck and have fun!! :bassist:
  5. Bullet-Bob

Aug 20, 2005