1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Where to begin with building

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Yellow, Apr 20, 2006.

1. Yellow

Yellow

Apr 20, 2006
    Sooke, BC, Canada
    Hi everybody, I am a woodworker as well as a bass player (I build cabs)and had a custom bass made for me by another builder. I am quite interested in how to begin to build my own bass.
    I am certainy capable of gluing up a body wings, top cap, neck stock but the fretboard scares me a bit.
    How should I begin? any literature, basic principles, ideas you would recommend.
    Common Jigs for making fretboard? Pictures anywhere?

I would appreciate your advice and ideas.

2. Geoff St. Germaine

Geoff St. Germaine Commercial User

What part of building the fretboard/neck scares you?

As far as literature goes, the one book I've read is "Make Your Own Electric Guitar" by Melvyn Hiscock.

Also, there is a ton of information on this forum (use the search and you can find info on almost anything), and also at www.mimf.com and www.projectguitar.com.

3. nateo

nateo Schubie Fan #1

Mar 2, 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario
    And let's not forget our very own FAQ, stickied on the main page of this forum. It'd be a shame for Basschair to go to all that trouble and not have it be used.

-Nate

4. JSPguitars

JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley
    OR buy a pre-slotted board :p

5. Basschair

Basschair .............. Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca

:bassist:

6. Yellow

Yellow

Apr 20, 2006
    Sooke, BC, Canada
    I did look through the FAQ's, there is lots of great info, I didn't find any on making a fingerboard in particular and carving the curvature whatever degrees it is. 14, 15

I see some stuff on the truss rod, step by step would really be fantastic,