1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where to buy an Upright... Vancouver island / Vancouver area.

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by HudsonTD, May 20, 2011.

1. HudsonTD

HudsonTD

May 13, 2011
    Hi there,

I'm a student looking to buy a bass that will get me through college but I'm not sure about where good violin shops are. I'm willing to travel to Vancouver to look at shops there, but if I could first take a look on Vancouver island that would be great. So does anyone know any good shops on the island or in the Vancouver area that could sell a decent bass for around 5-12k?

Thanks,
    Hudson TD.

2. Try calling a "Long & McQuade" store. There are several in B.C., including one in Victoria.

Long & McQuade - Locations

If they don't have what you're looking for, maybe someone there can point you in the right direction.

3. HudsonTD

HudsonTD

May 13, 2011
    Yeah, thanks. The bass I own right now is from there. I'm just looking for an upgrade, and they don't keep any basses beyond student models. But I didn't think of asking them about other stores that might, so thanks for the advice.

4. eerbrev

eerbrev

Dec 6, 2009
    Ottawa, ON, CAN
    Jim Hamm is somewhere around there. where's Jake when you need him?

5. Don C

Don C

Jan 13, 2007
    Victoria BC
    What's your budget ?
    I know of several Basses for sale in the area, depending on how much you wish to spend.

Oops , reread your post and saw your cost parameters.
    That will teach me to be in a hurry !!

You have a PM.

6. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Commercial User

May 24, 2006
    Crescent Beach, BC
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver
    There are a couple of basses in your price range for sale in Bellingham right now. And I think Gerard has a Hofner on consignment: www.luthier.ca

7. Hi HudsonTD,