1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where to Pluck: Squier Affinity Precision PJ

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by canrock dpm1, Jan 9, 2021.

1. Hi, I’m new to bass learning and Talk Bass, so please forgive any stupid and/or redundant questions, and if I am not utilizing the forum correctly (and I’m open to corrections). My question at this time is, for those of you who have a PJ bass like my Squier Affinity, having a P pickup in neck position, and a J pickup added to the bridge position, where is the optimal position on the body to pluck the strings in order to get the most out of both pickups? Having looked through this site, I know now that there are a lot of factors that would affect the answer to simply asking “Where should I pluck?” in general, but I’m specifically wondering about the answer(s) relative to both pickups in this configuration (again, in order to make the best use out of both). So far, I’ve been plucking in the middle position between the two pickups, but I am still waiting for an amp to be shipped to me, so I’m not sure what is best for when I get the amp so I don’t have to do as much guessing and attempting to draw accurate and helpful conclusions from various trial positions. Please feel free to ask for further clarification and information if helpful. Thanks in advance for any help with this!

2. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    Hi, and welcome to TB.