1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

where to start with theory

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mothmonsterman, Mar 11, 2008.

1. mothmonsterman

mothmonsterman

Feb 8, 2006
    HI all
    I've been playing bass for about 8 or 9 years and i never gave theory, scales, arpeggios a second thought.
    till of course now it seems i've been in a plateau in my playing for the past couple of years.
    My right hand is strong technique wise but my left hand has yet to get with the program.

My question is, Where do i start?
    I've got a book the out lines alot of the left hand techniques and goes over the natural scale.

But I'm looking for other opinions and resources on where to start learning scales and developing good theory.

Not sure what else to say.

2. tjh

tjh Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2006
    Minnesota
    I have a book called "Complete Idiots Guide to Music Theory" ... I have yet to spend much time with it, but it looks like just the ticket ... I have also been told to learn the piano keyboard as well for a better grasp and background to theory was very useful ... I actually learned a great deal of basic theory from "Bass Guitar for Dummies" ... hmmm ... kind of seems to be a theme here in my study material, doesnt it ? :)

3. m2o03

m2o03

Feb 27, 2006
    Iowa
    hey! I recommend checking out activebass.com once you're there, click on "bassics" and that has theory charts, and all of that; the site in general though - i think you'll find it to be very handy.

4. Go to the nearest Barns&Nobles, Borders or a similar store. They usually have a couple of music theory books. Most likely you want to browse the guitar ones, there are some bass specific theory books but I suspect you need to order those, such as:

Mel Bay presents Essential Music Theory for Electric Bass (Perfect Paperback) by Robert Garner