Where were you at 6 months ?

Discussion in 'Bass Central' started by bjbass1, Jul 2, 2008.

1. bjbass1

bjbass1

Feb 3, 2008
    I've been playing for 6 months now and I was just wondering where most people were at with their playing after 6 months. I was taking lessons briefly from a guitar teacher , but I'm looking for a bass teacher in the D.C. area . Also , Does it make any difference if I use a metremone or a drum track when I practice ? I find it alot more fun when I make my own drum track on my MPC and practice to that .

2. Basseroni

Basseroni

Oct 17, 2006
    Southern California
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar Amplification, Dunlop/MXR
    You know what? I really can't remember where I was at 6 months as it was over 20 years ago. I used to practice to tapes and vinyl records when I first started playing so if I had the choice between a metronome and a drum track I would choose the drum track.

My good friend, Walter Cosby, teaches bass in DC. You can reach him at http://www.myspace.com/bass2c. You can tell him that "basseroni" referred you. :)
    As far as Walter's credentials, not only is he a great bassist but he is musically educated. He has played with many artists including songstress Julie Dexter, jazz pianist Marcus Johnson, and too many others to name. He is also currently working on his on solo project.

He plays electric bass and upright.

3. Michael777

Michael777

Feb 22, 2006
    General Manager: Bass Central
    The Good Thing about Music is that it definitely is a Journey thankfully and not a race. What are you measuring yourself against? and Why? Establishing a practice routine with goals in mind such as mastering a scale pattern at differing Tempos, learning a new tune a week, are both goals for example. Also getting out and interacting with other musicians helps develop many aspects of playing.These are good ways to progress.

4. mjolnir

mjolnir Thor's Hammer 2.1.3beta

Jun 15, 2006
    Houston, TX