Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Where would this take me?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by popinfresh, Feb 22, 2006.

1. popinfresh

popinfresh

Dec 23, 2004
    Melbourne, Aus
    Hey guys, i'm in my final year of high school and thinking about things to do when i've finished.

I'm pretty keen on a Audio Tech course at university/TAFE (A more practical kind of Uni i spose..) and was just wondering where I could go with that. It says it covers things such as mixing, producing, live and theatre sound etc.

So i'm just wondering if anyone on here has done a similar sort of course anywhere, or has a job in this area? If so, what sort of pay are you getting? Where are you working? etc etc.

Just wondering if it'd be a good choice. And if I do it at TAFE I can do Filmscore as a side study, which i'd love to do.

Thanks, Shane.

2. I studied for a while at SAE college, which is the more expensive course of what you're looking at doing. You can go anywhere from live sound, pre recorded hold messages for phone, TV sound, Film sound, engineering, mastering, radio.

Once your qualified, assuming youve gone into the music industry and not just radio or something, starting rates pretty much $50 per hour. Which is good. I spoke to some of my lecturers, and they wouldnt go out to someones house to install, fix, etc some ones studio/audio gear (which is another job u can get into) for less than $50 an hour. And once you keep moving up, so does your pay. Although, its pretty hard to get somewhere in the music industry. But theres plenty of live sound work and such all over the place.

Peace

3. popinfresh

popinfresh

Dec 23, 2004
    Melbourne, Aus
    Ahh, cool. So are you still doing the course at the moment? Is that pretty much the same course I meant at TAFE, but at the Uni's? Cos melbourne/victorian/monash uni's all seem to run that one course..