1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which : 2 1x12 versus 2 2x10 question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cycler, Nov 3, 2010.

1. cycler

cycler

Oct 6, 2010
    OK, I;ve spent way to much time on all sorts of threads here and appreciate the obsession, having recently ported over from the Gear Page (I must own 30 guitars and a dozen amps.....)

I'm down to a need to make a final decision for cabs. The situation is I'm new to bass for this gig, a female fronted 80's band doing the pop and funk side, not the hair band rock stuff at all. Clubs will be small to med and rehearsal room is up a flight of steps. I'm 58 with an iffy back.

I'm going back and forth between a pair of Berg 2x10's or 1x12's. Bass is a Fender Deluxe jazz ( USA ) and unsure of the head yet, probably MB F500 or such. There are no options to audition anything around here other than MB, GK and Ampeg.

So, here is my question. if money were no object all would a a pair of 2x10's or a pair of 12's interest you more for this kind of gig ? ( I don't want to move a 4x10 or similar)

I appreciate the groups thoughts on the matter.

2. babebambi

babebambi

Jan 7, 2008
    YTZ
    If you tell us a little about what you've use and what you like/dislike about those, it would make any recommendation more meaningful...

3. vertically stacked 210's will likely be slightly louder and closer to your ears and are usually more tight sounding. The 12 stack will be a bit lighter and usually gives a slightly more open full sound compared to the 10's...

I am however generalizing IME here, so if you could give us some specific brands/models you are looking at you will probably get some more accurate feedback

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Retired Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego