Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which 5 strings electric bass you advice me ??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kridrazil, Nov 10, 2002.

1. kridrazil

kridrazil

Nov 10, 2002
    Hi,

I have a question : I am considering to purchase a 5 strings electric bass, I am looking for a versatile instrument. I play mainly rock, pop and few others styles ...
    As I am playing guitar also, I really don't want a very big and large neck with very long scale lenght ...
    I am a novice in 5 strings, so could you advice me some good models of 5 strings electric bass please ??
    Price range : around 1000/1200 dollars or a little more, I think I will buy a used bass in mint condition.

I saw severals models like Musicman Sterling 5, G&L L-1505/L-2500, Rickenbacker 4004/5CII or 4003/S5 ...
    All advices on differents models and manufacturers of 5 strings electric bass will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Chuck M

Chuck M Supporting Member

May 2, 2000
    San Antonio, Texas
    Sounds like a Music Man Stingray 5 would be perfect for you. They have the tone and also have a 34" scale neck wtih fairly tight string spacing. Bass Central has a lot of them in stock in your price range. www.basscentral.com

Chuck

3. bikeplate

bikeplate Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2001
    Upstate NY
    Hi!

Music mans are great. You might want to consider a more high end preowned bass. Sounds as if you don't mind spending the cash. Roscoe, Warwick, Zon

Rob

4. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    Well.. I would go with a musicman STINGRAY... there is no Sterling 5-string.. even though the SR 5 is more like the sterling than the 4-string stingray..

I used to own a MM SR5 and its a great bass

5. kridrazil

kridrazil

Nov 10, 2002
    Any others advices for high end preowned bass like
    Roscoe, Warwick, Zon, Modulus, MTD, Lakland, Shecter ??

6. superphat

superphat