Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which amp models are crapola?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Black 'n Tan, Feb 18, 2005.

1. I'm gonna be hanging around Guitar Center and another music store tomorrow checking out amps. Problem is this ... I'm brand new to this and don't really know how to tell good amps from bad amps at this point.

I'll probably go combo to get started. Are there certain GK, Hartke, Peavey, "__________ fill in the blank _______" models that I should avoid? I just want a solid versatile amp with good tone and decent power (in case I want to do a small gig with it).

Thanks for your advice

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    rather than answer that right away, i woudl suggest that you go look around and see what you like that's within you budget (and even some stuff that's just slightly out of your budget). But don't buy anything yet. Write down exactly what you like (brand, model #) and whatever info you can find out about them (wattage, # and diameter of speakers). then come back here and post that information and see what people have to say. I would pay more attention to comments re: reliability and ability to cut it at a gig, and less to ones like "oh that amp sounds like crap". No one can tell you what sound you like.

3. +1 :)

4. kjones

kjones Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2004
    Maryland