Which band to play in?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Trevorus, Jun 1, 2003.

1. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    I am a Christian Bassist looking for a good band to play in. I have 2 choices. The first is a Christian band that has been around for about 3 years. They have a couple cd's, and have toured. MTV has also used their music. I am auditioning against a few other people. They have practice space and plenty of gear and PA. The other band is not a Christian band, but is not vulgar lyrically. This band's current members are friends I've known a while. They also have good equipment, but don't have such a reputation. The first band, I am competing against others, but the second band is "take it if you want it." So which band to I choos. I will obviously audition for the first band, and if I don't get it, I will go with the other band. But if I get the first one, what do I do? I am getting married soon, and if I have to be gone a lot, my wife won't like it. I'm really kinda torn. So help me out here! PLEASE!! Thank you.
  2. odie

odie Supporting Member

Well I maybe able to give some insight on this.

I was in a Christian metal band about 8-9 years ago. We toured had a CD out etc. Played around the midwest mostly. Colorado, to Pen/Ohio.

The bussiness of christian bands are just as rough, if not more than a secular band. We met some real crooks, some bad bussiness that involved "church leaders" etc. Never made any money. But we did make a difference to a few kids. Helped some at shows and we worked with the "Runaway Switchboard" helping teens. This was fullfilling but...............

To make a long story short. Im not the same because of it all. I stopped going to church, I sold all the equipment I had(which was alot!!). Bought an acoustic guitar and walked completly away from it all.