1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Which Bass Cab to Buy (newbie post) :S

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Broomiester, Mar 6, 2013.

1. Broomiester

Broomiester

Mar 6, 2013
    Hi,

I'm pretty new to bass and I've never owned anything other than a combo before, I just bought an Ashdown mag 300 head off ebay and I now need to get a cab (preferably before next friday). I'd like a cheap second hand one so I don't mind settling for a one speaker cab (but preferable a 2x10). I've looked at some on ebay such as an Ashdown 210, however, this is a 150w 8ohm cab and the mag 300 is a 300w with min 4ohm impedance. I think I'll be okay ohmage wise but it was my understanding that I'd need to have a speaker cab of 300w or above to handle the head. Is this the case or not? If so, what cheap +300w cabs would you recommend?

Thanks,

Matt

2. lazyone2

lazyone2

Jul 27, 2006
    new jersey shore
    I use a 1000 watt amp and a 200 watt speaker. Your amp has a volume control. Let your ears tell you when the speaker has had enough.

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Yes, 8 ohms is what you want, and don't worry about wattage ratings, just use common sense and don't send alot of low end high volume to the spkr.

4. cchorney

cchorney Supporting Member

Oct 21, 2010
    Meriden, CT
    +1 to this sentiment. Also, to improve the amount of sound you hear while jamming with your new gear, try placing the cab on its side so the 2 drivers are vertically aligned, and possibly also placing it on a milk crate or chair to get a little elevation to it. That will help you hear it better when you are standing up in front of it.