Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which Bass is best?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Explorer76, Feb 21, 2002.

1. Explorer76

Explorer76

Feb 21, 2002
    Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie and I have 400.00 or less to spend on a bass! Not including Amp! I decided I don't want to go with the fender squier models cause I have a squier guitar and once you start getting good you want a better one anyway. So I want to start off with a bass that will produce the best sound for under $400.00. I narrowed it down to a few choices which I thought might be good! What do you guys think? I'm leaning toward the Fender Std. Jazz Bass what do you guys think? Here are the following in no order of my liking....
    1-Yamaha BBN4
    2-Fender Std Jazz Bass
    3-Hartke AK4
    4-Ibanez SR300DX
    5-Hartke CK-4
    6-Yamaha RBX270
    What do you guys think? If you can think of anyoters that I didn't list feel free to tell me!
    Thanx

2. EString

EString

Nov 20, 2000
    Los Altos, CA
    You might look into getting a used G&L.

3. rayzak

rayzak

Jan 13, 2001
    Louisville, KY
    In my opinion, you cannot go wrong with the standard jazz. Best 'first' bass there is. IMHO.

4. Wxp4759cb

Wxp4759cb

Nov 23, 2000
    Kansas City, MO
    I'd go with the jazz. Ibanez have close string spacing(I like close, but alot don't), and In my opinion the cheap ones don't sound to good. Yamaha's play nice, but the cheap ones IMHO have noisy preamps, although a nice tone.

With any bass in that price range quality varies from bass to bass. For instance 2 jazzes might be totally different. Try out as many as you can, and I think you'll be happy.

Also consider getting a used bass.

5. John Davis

John Davis Guest

Mar 27, 2001
    Houston, Texas
    1) Fender Jazz
    2) Yamaha

6. Johnalex

Johnalex

Jul 20, 2001
    South Carolina