Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Hawkizzle, May 21, 2005.

1. Hawkizzle

Hawkizzle

May 21, 2005
    I have a few basses i might buy but im new to bass guitar but want a good one so I wont have to buy a new one in a few years so, Here are some basses and Im wondering which are the best ones. Also I will be playing rock and jazz
    1.Washburn XB120
    2. Rick Allen Deluxe P-Bass Style Guitar

If you have any other suggestions PLease state them cause im not really sure what bass to get for a decent price thats good.

2. purfektstranger

purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003
    Canada
    I have owned a Washburn Xb 120. A very well put together entry level bass. Lifetime warranty as well. Only drawback for me was the sound, which I found very growly and not very versatile. Knowing what I know now, I would recommend either a Standard Fender Jazz or Standard Fender Precision (used ) for about the price as a new Xb120. Other basses which seem to get good reviews from our fellow
    TB ers are the SX basses, Yamaha BB 404 and Yamaha RBX as well as the Ibanez GSR 200 and DX 300 to name a few.

Check out the reviews on websites like harmonycentral to get a better idea of how these basses are rated and if possible try as many as you can before you commit to one.

3. Hawkizzle

Hawkizzle

May 21, 2005
    ok, thank you for the help!

4. Hawkizzle

Hawkizzle

May 21, 2005
    I've decided on a Fender Standard Precision Bass and for an amp im gonna get a Rogue rb60 60W bass combo. Is that a good combination? I wont be doing any gigs or anything yet so..

5. darkfish01

darkfish01

Feb 11, 2005
    San Marcos, Tx
  6. Hawkizzle

Hawkizzle

May 21, 2005
    well the thing about that is i dont want to have to buy a new guitar when i start gettin better and maybe do gigs etc...

7. purfektstranger

purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003