1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Which bassist should I study next?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Harry Lime, Mar 1, 2002.

1. I am currently studying the basslines of Paul McCartney. I am learning from a few theory books as well. But I want to start preparing on who I should study next. What do you guys mean when you say "study" anyway? I mean, if you don't get a good book like the Signature Licks books, all you are presented with is is the music.

I like all kinds of music. So it is a bit difficult to choose from. I could go with Jaco, Flea, Motown... (all three of those have Hal Leonard Signature Licks books.) Unfortunately with Paul McCartney I just use my Beatles Scores and Beatless Bass book. I would really like to choose one artist, because I find that all the tabs on the internet are unreliable in terms of rhythm and sometimes they are just plain wrong. I tried playing that John Deacon riff from 'Under Pressure' on here...and it doens't sound anything like what he plays.

The Signature Series explains in detail about each bassline and song. (I own The Doors Signature Licks Series for Guitar, so I know how good their books are.) Anyway, I could go with one of those three...or there are others like John Deacon or Sting. Or am I even making any sense here? I should probably go with something that isn't rock oriented, just to learn another style...right?

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Remember this title:

Standing in the Shadows of Motown, by Dr. Licks Hal Leonard Publisher.

If there's one bassist whose style all bassists should learn this is it. I've had my copy for 10 years and I still get great stuff out of it. Get it. Trust me.

3. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    ...personally, I'd go for Jamerson & Motown-