Which bassists have been or are self taught?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Progressive, Jan 26, 2006.

1. I recently learned that Chris Squire, the bassist for Yes, was self-taught! This amazes me, because the songs I have heard of Yes have some of my favourite bass lines and texture to them. Let's see how many bassists you know of that are self taught? I feel inspired not to take lessons; I feel like being a rebel. =P
  2. FunkSlap89

Apr 26, 2005
    Albany, NY
    I've heard that flea has had barely any instruction (besides his initial lessons from Hillel Slovak).
  3. Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    yeah i think Flea is basicly self tought, i'm not sure how much or what hillel tought him but other than that the rest is all him...i think, i cant think of anyone else whos self tought, when anyone else pops in my head ill give a post....ME! lol
  4. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Billy sheehan is self-taught..

I took lessons for about a year but i never learned anything som i guess that makes me self-taught too...
  5. Muzique Fann

Muzique Fann Howzit brah

Dec 8, 2003
    Kauai, HI
    AFAIK, Reed Mathis has never had a lesson in his life...and I'm glad he hasn't.
  6. Scottie

Scottie Banned

Oct 14, 2005
    Michael Anthony probably studied at the feet of Stanley Clarke and Jaco. His bass lines are simply breathtaking and macnificant.
  7. AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    Depends on how you define sef taught. From my experience most "self taught", jam w/ other people and pick things up that way (show me how you did that) or watch other players. Now books,DVD's and videos. I think a lot is picked up from other people, they just didn't pay for lessons.
  8. crapusername

Sep 26, 2005
    North Kent.UK
    endorsing artist: Dean guitars, Marshall , Rotosound strings
    isn't Steve Harris self taught?
  9. les claypool comes to mind. and flea is self tought on bass, but not on trumpet

10. Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000