Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which Cab? Aguilar, Acme, EA or Flitesound?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jzucker, Feb 13, 2005.

1. jzucker

jzucker

Feb 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    I'm looking for a small cab (approx 40lbs). I plan to use it for jazz and some funk stuff. For louder gigs I'll pair it up with one of my raezer's edge cabs but for most gigs I'm hoping the single cab will be sufficient (mostly small clubs).

I'm thinking of the Acme B1, EA cxl 110, Aguilar GS110 or Flitesound 12H.

Any thoughts?

P.S.

I'm a guitarist primarily and already own a Clarus SL/R which I'll be using for bass too...

2. Matt Morgan

Matt Morgan Fellow Conspirator Supporting Member

Oct 21, 2001
    Plano, TX
    I'm a BIG fan of EA cabs. I use a couple CXL112s. For your use (and since the CXL110 has been discontinued), I'd recommend the EA Wizzy 112. It's very light weight, very efficient and is a 4 ohm cab which will allow you to get the most out of your amp.
    Just my thoughts.

3. Check out the Schroeder cabs.

4. I'm a Flite guy, but haven't heard the 1/12. But I would imagine it would be great. I've used the 1/15 with mid and it works great for smaller gigs. I'm playing a 6 string so I haven't tried the 2/10 on it's own. But use them together when I need the power and it's there for sure. I've never had to turn the power amp above 2 o'clock. Also each cab only weighs in at 28lbs. Most gigs big or small I take both, it just sounds so great together. :) And they are small in size, and can carry both cabs in 1 trip.
    Dirk

5. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    You left out an important player in the market you are shopping in.....Epifani. I am a recent Epifani convert. Epifani cabs are awesome. Spend the money, and get a UL 112.

-Mike

6. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999