1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which DarkGlass Preamp should I buy today?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by BinBass, Nov 26, 2017.

1. BinBass

BinBass

Nov 16, 2017
    Newbie bassist here. My bass has passive pickups (Lace Alumatone) and so I’ve Ben needing a preamp and looks as if I can snag a deal on a DarkGlass today. Only thing is, the internet at our home is out, and so I can’t really watch videos without burning through my phones data plan. Naturally, Verizon won’t be by to fix it until tomorrow afternoon after the sales are over.

Can anyone here describe the differences between the sound/features of the DarkGlass pre’s? I looked at their site, but without watching the videos, the specs seem similar. Also, if there’s something else I should look at instead, recommendations in that vein would be helpful.

As far as genres of music, although I’m a newbie bass player, I have been playing other instruments for years, and play a wide range of genres from world to rock to funk to R&B to pop, jazz, etc.,

Thanks for the help!

2. Adamixoye

Adamixoye A PT Pro is cool for worship, right?

Apr 9, 2012
    Occasional Beta Tester for Confusion Studios, Singular Sound, and Source Audio
    Which pre's are you looking at? The B3K/B7K/B7K Ultra series tends towards a modern, bright tone with a steep narrow notch cut in the mids but a small bump in the low mids and a bigger bump in the high mids. The VMT/VMT Deluxe/VMT Ultra series has a darker but mid-forward tone. The B#K series, IMO, is still pretty versatile if you get a B7K or Ultra with the EQ. The Alpha/Omega isn't really intended to be a preamp in the same way, it's more of a heavy distortion, although it does have preamp-like features (EQ, XLR out) and some people run it fairly clean in a preamp style.