1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

which delay to buy?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by xxDavidxx, May 1, 2009.

1. xxDavidxx

xxDavidxx Guest

Aug 16, 2008
    Leiden, Netherlands
    it's my birthday very soon, which means: new bass gear

right now i'm looking for a good delay pedal. price range €80-150.

i've been looking at some specs, reviews and demos already, and what seems good to me is the Boss DD-7, which is in my price range.
    BUT, i have no experience with delay pedals AT ALL. all i've got myself is an overdrive pedal, and the controls are pretty straightforward on that.

i play mostly post-metal inspired folk metal, and the band is going in a more post-rockish direction lately.
    what i'm looking for is a cool, functional delay, which can make a crazy sound on it's own, and add an extra dimension to my sound while playing with the band.

i've got 2 questions:
    -does anyone have any experience with the dd-7?
    -is this a good pedal for what i'm looking for, or is there maybe something else right for me?

thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for the advice :]

o yeah, i'm playing on an ibanez GSR205, my own amp is a cheapo 30W, but i play a lot through a peavey tnt115, and i'm possibly buying one coming year.

2. Jared Lash

Jared Lash Born under punches Supporting Member

Aug 21, 2006
    Northern California
    For post rock, the DD-7 strikes me as a bit cold and digital sounding, but it is pretty feature packed.

I really depends on what options you want (tap tempo, really long delay times, ability to self oscillate, digital/tape/analog sounds etc) but based on what you've described I think I'd rather have something like the Carbon Copy which could also double as a reverb.

3. xxDavidxx

xxDavidxx Guest

Aug 16, 2008
    Leiden, Netherlands