1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which DI Box for Recording?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by MonsterBass101, May 21, 2011.

1. MonsterBass101

MonsterBass101

Mar 3, 2008
    SC
    Hey everybody, I'm looking for a good DI to record with. I play worship music, but also love a good dirty sound too. Alternative, Rock, and everything else is also good.

My choices are:

Aguilar Tone Hammer
    MXR M80 Bass DI
    Radial JDI Passive DI Box

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    I'm looking for something good to put in a sandwich. My choices are:
    ham with mustard
    ham with mayo
    plain ham

3. I've been using a SansAmp RBI for a few years with great results : sound similar to my Ampeg SVT stack in a small box, possibility of adding distortion (from slight overdrive to full distortion without any low end lost), control on the mids. This would be my suggestion. I have no experience with the products you mentioned in the opening post, sorry.

4. Silent Fly

Silent Fly Commercial User

May 8, 2006
    London - UK
    Owner/designer [sfx]
    :) :) :)

5. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph Provider Supporting Member

And no cheese ?!?

Kidding aside, I've used the SansAmp PBDDI and it worked well for me. I haven't tried the ones mentionned by the OP.

6. Stinsok

Stinsok Supporting Member

Dec 16, 2002
    Central Alabama
    SD Paranormal.

7. I've tried several DI boxes because I use them live with my band. I've tried SansAmp Paradriver, regular passive DI, a Bass Driver, and the Aguilar Tone Hammer was the one we liked best.

8. IanIan

IanIan

Dec 31, 2009
    Finland