Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which essex?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lunchbox5424, Dec 23, 2003.

1. lunchbox5424

lunchbox5424

Dec 22, 2003
    Ut
    I am going to buy an Essex for my first bass. I'm still learning all the terms so I honestly dont know one bass from another. I need help choosing one. I want to play in more of a metal/ fieldyish style. So which one would be good for me?

2. You'll probably want a jazz bass simply because a P bass will be lost in any amount of distorted guitars.

3. lunchbox5424

lunchbox5424

Dec 22, 2003
    Ut
    And for those who are wondering, yes I did do a search & even read a decent portion of the essex mega thread. I just got clusterf**ked trying to figure out which bass was for what.:)

4. bassmantele

bassmantele

Jul 22, 2003
    Boston MA USA
    I just got my Essex Jazz. I did all the reading and decided that the Jazz seemed to be better as a general starter bass. I'm very pleased with mine - it looks and feels great, and it's a lot better bass than I am a player.

5. A Jazz bass is a good choice, IMHO, for this kind of music, but someone else mentioned a P bass being lost with the guitars, maybe you might want a P bass, they have more bottom end than a Jazz Bass.

Go here

http://www.rondomusic.bigstep.com/category.html?UCIDs=940496

You can see the various Jazz and P bass copies, each model has the year # next to it, this shows which year it is copying.

The basses with Gold hardware cost about $20.00 bucks more. As you can see, they have maple and rosewood boards, some people feel that Maple is brghter then Rosewood, you'll need to chose for yourself.

This is an Essex SJB-62 TM.
    [​IMG]

This is an SX SPB-62
    [​IMG]

Hope this is helpful. I'm sure there are many who will be willing to help you with specific questions.