1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which Fender Jazz to get?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mussla, May 10, 2010.

1. mussla

mussla

May 10, 2010
    Hi all!

I'm new to this forum. I have been playing bass on and off for 20 years. I just started in a band again after a break lasting years and I'm on the hunt for a new bass. :)

I went down to a music store and tried a Jazz Deluxe Active. I thought it was really good but I wanted to do some research before buying. I have read up on the different versions of the Jazz and I think I either want an Active Deluxe or a 70's remake (the dealer did not have a 70's so I haven't tried one yet). I play blues, rock, reagge and funk (slap) and I'd like a bass that works good for all of these styles.

I read that the pickup spacing on the 70's is better for slap but hum might be a problem. I guess the active version has no hum problem and might have better sound over all? But is it not as good for slap playing? I also like the master volume and pan between pups on the active...

Which one would you recommend?

Thanks,
    Mussla

2. StuartV

StuartV Finally figuring out what I really like Supporting Member

Jul 27, 2006
    Manassas, VA
    The bass player in the band that I play drums in has been playing bass for something like 35 years. Made his living doing it at times in his life. He went to GC last Spring with a fat IRS refund check and the plan to buy a nice, new bass. He has always played Fender. He went in expecting to buy a new Fender MIA Jazz. But, he tried lots of stuff and ended up buying the bass he actually liked the best - better than an MIA Jazz. He got a Squier Active Jazz Deluxe 5 string. He paid GC's regular price on those, which was $329.