1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which Fingering Method for Jazz?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by RobMac, Dec 28, 2019.

1. RobMac

RobMac

Sep 9, 2016
    Edinburgh
    Mel Bay Author
    Not got my DB yet, but doing some prep work and research. I've become aware of different classical methods used by players (classical or jazz) such as Simandl, Rabbath, and Machado's "The Tao of Bass" - I'm sure there are many others.

Each seems to have a very different approach to left-hand fingering, and I imagine - although I'm an experienced bass guitarist - it would be easy to get lost with the different schools.

So, given the above, what do you think would be the most useful for jazz playing?

2. Start with Simandl, but try Rabbath as soon as it starts making sense to you. I haven't heard about Machado. Check good youtube videos, like Chris Fitzgerald's. Be open. With big bass, you need to find a way that works for you.

3. Sean Riddle

Sean Riddle Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2013
    Ventura, California
    Starting on Simandl and the methods/etudes associated with that method would be a good starting point. It’ll provide you with a solid technical foundation to base yourself from and at least can guarantee solid intonation. From there it’s much more easier to add more fingering concepts to your vocabulary. I’ve spent time with both Simandl and a bit of Rabbath and have found uses for both in my playing. Generally I’ve found when playing bass lines I stick to a more Simandl approach, which can basically be boiled down to shift every half-step. When playing a faster passage, soloing, etc, I’ve found myself to employ some pivoting and the playing across the strings concept Rabbath tends to employ.