Which FX to use in the following songs

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by flea2010, May 19, 2003.

1. Hi,

I bought a Roland GT-6B and now want to use some effects. Because I'm very new to this topic, I want you to give me some advice, which effects to use in the following songs we play:

Scorpions: Rock you like a hurricane
    Bryan Adams: Run to you
    Phil Collins: Easy Lover
    Toto: Hold the line
    Mother´s Finest: Baby Love
    Doobie Brothers: Long train running
    Michael Jackson: Beat It
    Deep Purple: Smoke on the water
    Bon Jovi: Living on a prayer
    Europe: Final Countdown
    Chris de Burgh: High on emotion
    Anastacia: Outta Love
    Roxette: The Look
    Lenny Kravitz: Always on the run
    Liquido: Narcotic
    Skunk Anansie: Hedonism
    Anouk: Nobody´s Wife
    AC/DC: Highway to hell
    Melissa Etheridge: Like the way I do

Thank you,
  2. Most of those song don't require FX.

However the GT-6B might be good for
    storing different EQ curves.
  3. Herkimer

Dec 10, 2002
    Detroit, MI
    Easy Lover might use a little chorus. (Was that a Nathan East type sound?) Toto could too.

All could use some compression and a good EQ balance.

Beat it - compression and a noise gate for crisp silence in between notes.
    .(Looking at the list again...)
    Most of those songs aren't played with effected bass. You can get by with solid compression, a good tube amp simulator for warmth, and some good EQ. Perhaps you could use a fretless simulator for the melissa Etheridge tune - but I'm not familiar with it. I just know she often records with a fretless.
  4. --sorry, it had to be said--
    how about the effect where you dont play most of those horrible songs (Final Countdown?)
    - I apologize for being so nasty
    write some new songs-you're good enough!
  5. let's say it that way:

play the songs the audience likes
    have a lot of gigs
    earn money to record your own songs