1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Which head, Ashdown MAG300 or Ampeg B2R?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by apmas, Apr 15, 2009.

1. apmas

apmas

Apr 13, 2009
    Im a new bassist, and looking to buy my first head. Im looking at used heads with a limited budget. Which of the two would you guys recommend? thanks a lot.

2. mrkreuzschlitz

mrkreuzschlitz

Jun 30, 2008
    Dacula, GA
    Check out the Carvin heads if you can,

but between those two, I'd get the Ashdown, hands down. The B-2r(e) heads have NEVER sounded good to me, and they seem just underpowered.

All IMO and IME of course.

3. apmas

apmas

Apr 13, 2009

Carvin BX600? Is this better than both b2r and mag300?

4. 4Mal

4Mal Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2002
    Columbia River Gorge
    neither... The B2R is not a real exciting sounding head. It has none of the ampeg thing you get from the SVT 3 Pro on up... I've had both the B2R and the B2Re. the R was way better tonally but not as loud. Better tonally is a measured sort of thing. For me, fine as a practice amp. As an amp to gig with ? not for me.

Now if you can find a used SVT III Pro that is another story. A great sounding amp. Not very loud for it's 450 claimed watts but - they are very good sounding watts ... once in a while III Pro's show in the $400 range ...

the Ashdown isn't exactly praised for it's reliability... to me the 'magi' Ashdown is the 500 EVO - sweet amp but not exactly 'budget'...

Used on a budget ? my advice would be GK 400/700/800 ... they sound great with most any cabinets, real easy to match up with. Built like tanks. Super reliable.