1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which Instrument Do You Think Is Best To Learn Alongside Bass?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Dubadays, Oct 26, 2009.

1. Dubadays

Dubadays

Apr 4, 2009
    I hear a lot about people learning bass alongside other instruments, and I was just curious to see who else thinks they benefited from learning another instrument along with bass. I started playing bass when I was about 10, so I've been playing around 7 years. I've been taking drum lessons for about 9 years, which I think has helped my bass playing TREMENDOUSLY. Did you learn bass alongside another instrument, and do you think it helped you a lot?

2. gkbass13

gkbass13 Supporting Member

Mar 29, 2006
    Chicago
    drums or piano. rhythm is huge, which explains the drums. and the keyboard is esential to know for a really strong understanding of theory.

the expression and phrasing in horn playing is cool stuff as well.

3. MNAirHead

MNAirHead Supporting Member

Guitar, Keys and Drums..

Just enough to know the theory of how the other guys think.

I commonly will learn new material on keys and guitar first.. helps glue it together.

4. Jefenator

Jefenator Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2008
    Oregon
    I'm tempted to +1 drums because rhythm is so utterly important, slightly more so than any other element IME/O.

But you get a lot from chordal and melodic studies as well. I get hired at least as much for following & reinforcing chord progressions and cueing off melodies as I do for my "time".

So it's a tough call - definitely one of those YMMV things. :D

5. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    Piano or guitar. A better grasp of harmony is crucial.

6. bobknowsbass

bobknowsbass

Jul 27, 2009
    Monrovia, CA