1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which is More Useful: Flanger or Wah?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JanusZarate, Mar 22, 2006.

1. JanusZarate

JanusZarate Low End Avenger Gold Supporting Member

Feb 21, 2006
    Petaluma, CA, USA
    Right now I've got a Boss BF-2 Flanger, which IMO sounds awesome... but I feel like it might not be very useful to me. In fact, I'm currently just using it as a sort of an occasional ring mod, and seldom use it for its other great effects because they're just not something I'd use very often.

After giving the Dunlop Crybaby 105q a test run, I think I might invest in one. I'm liking the potential of wah, but I wonder about my Flanger

I'm a novice who's into bands like Tool, Megadeth, and others with great rock and metal basslines.

Should I keep the Flanger and get the Wah? Forget the Wah? Sell the Flanger? :confused:

2. I would keep both. Combining the two might give you a sound that you've been after. You could use the wah as a frequency boost like Dark Harted used to, I lost track of his ever-changing board. He's got some good samples, I think.
    If you're set on having one or the other get the wah from a place that offers a 30 day return, try it if you like keep, if ya don't send it back.
    And I agree the BF-2 is an awesome flanger.

3. Nyarlathotep

Nyarlathotep Banned

Feb 5, 2006
    West Coast of Canada
    Go for both, you may be suprised what a wah can do with different effects (and not just dist)

If you search for the user name IcedEarthWOM (that's my old name), as well as DarkHarted, you should find links to some wah samples. (Un)fortunatly, they're all with fuzz....