1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which of These 3 Amps Should I Buy?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kurtsnyder, Jan 13, 2008.

1. kurtsnyder

kurtsnyder

Oct 31, 2006
    Nashville
    Hey guys. I have been playing DB for a couple of years now and am ready to get into EB. My friend has loaned me his old Ibanez SDGR1000, but I need an amp. Some people have told me to go buy a small cheap practice amp, but I figure I should drop a couple more bucks and pick up a decent used amp that's a little bigger. This is where I need help.

I found 3 that interest me. the first is a Crate BX-160 in good condition and the guy wants $160. My second choice is a Yorkville 200WT Combo that I talked the guy down to $175. Finally I found a Fender BXR 300c that I talked the guy into taking $180.

All 3 seem to be in really good condition. I haven't played any of them yet, but just wanted to get a general idea of what combo would be the best deal and generally what sounds best. Thanks!

2. I would go for the Yorkie - those are great little amps.

I have never been a fan of Crate amps, or the Fender BXRs.

3. Gintaras

Gintaras

Dec 11, 2004
    Kent Island, Md.
    I have no experience with any of those combo's but would recommend playing all 3 and see what you like. Your DB background should easily allow you to hear what you think is the best sounding amp. (of course, amp tone is highly subjective) I also think that you will see members coming back and telling you to get the Yorkville. I see them mentioned regularly when combo's are the subject.

4. +1 the Yorkie is some tough stuff. Never had much luck with Crate and I have no experience with the Fender.

5. laboitenoire

laboitenoire

Jul 5, 2006