1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which oil finish

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Hopkins, May 18, 2012.

1. Hopkins

Hopkins Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 17, 2010
    Houston Tx
    Owner/Builder @Hopkins Guitars
    I'm new to using oil as a finish. I want low gloss, raw wood feel on a project I'm working on, so I figure wood is the way to go.

Which product do you guys recommend. I can get Formby's and Minwax tung oil and Watco Danish or Teak oil locally. What are the pros and cons of the products listed, and are there any others that would work better.

2. bassistjoe93

bassistjoe93 Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2011
    I'm experimenting with Tru Oil gun stock finish on a bass neck right now. It's low gloss and from what I can feel without sanding, I'm thinking its gonna be a nice, close to natural wood feeling!

3. Stev187

Stev187 Peavey MegaBass Club!

Jan 11, 2011
    Toledo, OH
    About a year ago I did a Jazz bass neck with Tru-Oil. Meant to also put the matching wax on but never needed to. Fantastic finish for a bass neck--feels great and doesn't get slimy or sticky on a gig. Goes on very easy; just follow the directions on the bottle.

--Steve

4. bassistjoe93

bassistjoe93 Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2011
    I was really surprised at how easy Tru-Oil goes on. I'm letting it sit for the rest of the night but I'm thinking its gonna be one sweet neck finish when its all said and done.

5. CnB77

CnB77

Jan 7, 2011
    NJ
    Tru-oil is very nice, but a bit expensive to use over an entire body. Raw tung oil can work for that really natural feel, and is much cheaper.

This isn't really related but I've lately been thinking about using violin varnish at least on the body.