Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

WHICH ONE???

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by sk8punk14, Feb 10, 2006.

1. sk8punk14

sk8punk14

Feb 10, 2006
    Hi, I have a Stagg BC300 (4 string bass) and I am looking to get an overdrive pedal. I am fairly new to bass, and don't want to spend much over £25 :meh: . If you have any suggestions on which pedal to get, then please reply. Thanks.

2. Higgie

Higgie

May 31, 2005
    London, England
    £25? You won't get anything decent for less than £60 really. If your on a budget, the best thing to go for would be a Boss ODB-3 or the Ibanez PD-7. Both have their strong points, and I use an ODB-3 so would recommend that. Haven't tried the PD-7 though.

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Might be able to pick up a Behringer VD1 or BOD100 for that price, but they're very CHEAP pedals.

4. Higgie

Higgie

May 31, 2005
    London, England
    Yeah, I didn't mention the Behringer's as I thought of how flimsy they are. They don't look like they'd last a whole set. But then again that's just my opinion so you could try them, they're only like £15 each.

5. sk8punk14

sk8punk14

Feb 10, 2006
    Thanks for your help, but I have one more question. Is there anything wrong with the VD1 for home use (not for gigs)? Or is a MXR Blow Torch much better (as you can see, I don't have much experience with pedals)?

6. grygrx

grygrx Lookout! Here comes the Fuzz! Staff Member

Dec 24, 2003
    Columbia, MO
    My first OD pedal was/is a digitech "Bad Monkey". I've tried much better (expensive OD) but nothing I liked better in the price range.

7. get one of those zoom 506II there really good. it cost me £39 and it has loads of decent effects on it. if you cant find one go to spectresounds.co.uk and their having a 5% sale on

8. check out the new AX3B from korg toneworks, around 60euros( <40£).