1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which one?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BadBassPlayer, Feb 18, 2008.

1. BadBassPlayer

BadBassPlayer

Feb 18, 2008
    Canada
    Hi! i just started playing bass 9 months ago, i bought a Behringer starter set (this one: http://www.woodbrass.com/images/woodbrass/BEHRINGER+BASS+PACK.JPG)
    i'm currently looking for a new bass guitar. i've been reading threads in the forum for a while and the 2 basses that caught my attention were the:
    1. squier vintage modified jbass
    and
    2. SX SJB-62QMD

i like to play funky slap and pop stuff and i was wondering which one would be better. if i were to get the SX bass and change it up, would it be better than the squier or should i just buy the squier instead and forget about modding the SX?

thanks alot! :hyper:

2. ysand

ysand

Mar 26, 2005
    Athens/Greece
    Go for the VM :)

3. If you can afford it, go for the Squier. Then you won't have to replace anything.

4. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

+1

5. bassnug47

bassnug47

Oct 7, 2007
    Birmingham AL
    life is good, Dead is better
    def get the Squier

6. warwick.hoy

warwick.hoy

Aug 20, 2006
    Spokane, WA.
    Beta Tester: Source Audio.
    Squier VM.

They are not that much more expensive in relative terms, and you'll be less inclined to hate it in a few years, oh and if you want you can still mod it.

I may be wrong but it may be easier to find fitting parts for the Squier, than with the SX, again I may be wrong and I'm sure I'll be corrected:)

7. squier. for sure.

8. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    Definitely the Squier. SX's are more variable in quality from instrument to instrument - you might get an SX that is as good as the Squier, but then again you might not.