Which picks do you prefer?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by pirata, Jun 22, 2000.

1. pirata

Jun 21, 2000
    Ive been playing for a short time (6 months) and have recently come across some songs that require the use of picks. I was wondering which picks you use when playing. I've been using a 3 mm stubby and wondering if there are any better. Thanks for any suggestions.
  2. Chris A

Chris A Chemo sucks!

Feb 25, 2000
    Manchester NH
    Well to be honest I use the orange ones. But the reason I'm a-posting here is to let you know that we are picking up and moving to....................technique.

Chris A. [​IMG]
  3. ~Loxley~

~Loxley~ Guest

Apr 9, 2000
    Isn't this topic a bit redundant...?

~Loxley~ [​IMG]

Never trust a man who doesn't drink - Winston Churchill

4. Paladin

Jun 15, 2000
    I don't really think that there is one pick that is better than another. Just go by what is comfortable and produces the sound you want. I like using the stubby 2 & 3mm picks on the rare occasions that I actually use a pick.
  5. msaygilar

msaygilar Guest

Apr 18, 2000
    I rarely use picks, when it is necessary, and I prefer D`Andrea or Daddario picks, 2 mm..
  6. good god, you guys make me feel like a freak. I use dunlop .71mm's and am looking to switching to .60mm. I have no clue why but the thinner ones are just easyer for me to play with. more comfortable with my arm. the thick ones just hurt for me. i guess its all a matter of taste. it took awhile to get used to from switching from 1mm to .71mm but i was glad a did.
  7. MetalBass

Apr 19, 2000
    I mainly use a Clayton USA 1.2mm for normal playing but if I feel like speeding up I use the more bendy triangular Fender Heavies. Sometimes if I feel like playing with a smaller but not weaker pick I use a small stainless steel but that cuts the hell out of my strings!

When you play bass do you ever wonder what idiot had the idea of making a lead guitar??