1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which Pickup is an ideal upgrade?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by glf12, Jun 18, 2007.

1. glf12

glf12

Jun 18, 2007
    Hey, guys. First post here.

I have been playing a Fender MIM P Bass for a couple years now, thru an Ampeg BR100. Flatwound strings. It is probably 90% what I'm looking for in my inner ear.

I've been thinking of upgrading the stock pickup, and hear lots of good things about the Seymour Duncun Quarter Pounder. However, I'm not clear what the sound characteristics are. I play mostly indie and acoustic rock/pop stuff, and go for a warmer sound. If you know Crowded House or some Aimee Mann recordings, or the Jayhawks, that's what I'm shooting for...warm, natural sounding bass. Am I going in the right direction with the Seymour Duncans? If these are best suited for metal or funk, please let me know. Thanks.

2. EMG with a BTC or other EMG preamp. I had an EMG in my Westone Concord II (1 P pickup) years ago and it was awesome.

3. It has been my experience that as soon as you start walking the path of pickup upgrades, it becomes a never ending quest. I would go for a bridge upgrade, either Badass II or Gotoh 201, before a pickup change, those MIM basses (especially the newer ones) come w/ good pickups. If you eventually come to the point where you are 100% in need of another pickup, the sound you've described can probably be achieved through the pickups alexofc69 mentioned above.

4. gooch

gooch

Jun 18, 2007
    I put a pair of EMG's in my 76 Jazz about 20 years ago to replace some SD's that I didn't like. The EMG's have been kicking ever since. Highly recommended!

5. SuperSnake2012

SuperSnake2012 floppy b strings

Dec 12, 2006
    Bronx, NY