Which Rack case for 400+???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lefty_400, Aug 3, 2005.

1. lefty_400

May 18, 2005
    I have put off getting a rack case for my 400+ for some time now but I am going to be moving the amp around a lot more in the coming months so I will be needing one.

I am fairly new to the whole 'Rack-Case' game. Rather than taking a wild stab in the dark ('I guess this will do'), I would like some input from guys more experienced in this area.

Here's what I have gathered:
    1: I will need a 4-Space Rack Unit
    2: Seems to me with all those tubes in there I should get a shock proof rack case (btw, what does 'shock proof' mean in terms of the construction of the case from a normal case? More Foam?).

Any particular brands that you guys favour? If you are a 400+ user, what rack did you get?

Let me know what you guys think...

2. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    I use a standard Gator rack. The previous owner drilled some holes in the side of the rack to aid ventilation. The Mesa shock racks are nice, but no way I want to ad a 40 lb rack to a 50 lb amplifier. For shock/vibration protection while playing, I put a piece of packing foam (heavy duty thick stuff) on top of the cabinet, under the head.
  3. Why not go for the Mesa Boogie SUS4 shockmount rack? It will double the weight of your amp and cost you a chunk of change, but nothing will baby your tube amp as well.
  4. konfishily

Jan 24, 2004
    Brooklyn, NY
    Both these guys are right. You sacrifice weight for added protection. I guess it depends on your upperbody strength and your budget. If you do get the suspended rack, make sure your cab has casters, so at least you can roll it around on top instead of carrying it.
  5. Make sure that its a sprung shockmount if you get one, not a foam one, the foam will just act as insulation which is not good for a tube amp!