1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Which rounds sound the most like flats?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by 4StringDave, Feb 27, 2020.

1. Hi

Further to my previous thread in which I asked if I needed to "man up" to play flats, I have been playing with them for a couple of months now, including several gigs. Overall, I think the sound of the flats (Fender 9050L) is perfect - good low mids and smooth highs, but I still can't get on with the feel, especially if my hands are just a tiny wee bit moist, when the strings become very grabby. It's not the tension of lack of flexibility that's the problem, it's the flat surface causing friction.

The question therefore is - is there a brand of rounds which will give me a more flat-like sound while keeping the rounds feel? I'm happy for them to be new or dead, although I suspect the latter will be closer to the mark......

Many thanks for taking the time to offer your opinion!

Element Zero likes this.
  2. Try GHS Balanced Nickels. May still need to break em in or "kill" them, but they are one of the most mellow rounds I've played.

I usually prefer Bright Stainless Steel strings so I can't help with deadening strings, although I hear skin cream/lotion works. :)

3. trothwell

trothwell

Apr 9, 2008
    Agree with @Pizza1988 ... I was previously using Labella quarter rounds for that elusive space in between flats and rounds, but those have been discontinued, and now GHS Balanced Nickels have been introduced. The Balanced Nickels work even better. They are simply round wound (not pressurewound, or groundwound, or anything like that), but they occupy a sonic space closer to flatwound strings. Very nice indeed!

TC.65 and Pizza1988 like this.
  4. thabassmon

thabassmon

Sep 26, 2013
    New Zealand