Which Strings to Get??

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Scrawneybassist, May 23, 2001.

1. The strings on my 4 string Fender Precison bass are getting kind of old. I need to buy some new strings but i don't know which kind to buy. I mostly play funk/punk/ska. Any advice on which kind of strings to buy? Thanks
  2. onadowner

May 23, 2001
    Howz it.

Well I'm not a bass expert, but I think it's more of a personal preference, everybody likes different things. So my advice would be just go out and get a few brand name strings that you've heard of and test as many as you can.

Me, I use D'Addario strings, they sound and feel good to me, mostly Half Rounds. I like Ernie Ball too....but only on one of my basses. Anyhow, later.
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

No place I know of will let you put strings on a bass to test them. And I'm guessing you don't want to spend around $100 to get several sets and try them out.

As onadowner said, it's personal preference but it sure sounds like you haven't been at it long enough to have a personal preference yet.

Based on the types of music you describe, you might like DR Lo-Riders. They're very popular around here and lots of pros use them. (I use DR Fat Beams but I think the Lo-Riders are better fro your needs). Also, they're a safe bet because they aren't radically bright and raw or deep and thumpy.

A couple of the best places to check them out are www.getstringscheap.com and www.juststrings.com

BTW, Welcome to Talkbass, onadowner!
  4. onadowner

May 23, 2001

Ehehe....thanks for the links rickbass! About the testing thing, I used to get a set, and when those got old and I needed new ones, I'd just buy some of a different brand....eventually after a while of that I just picked which ones I liked most. Probably a weird process too.
  5. rickbass