Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which teacher has the better method?

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Brahim, Apr 16, 2004.

1. Brahim

Brahim

Apr 9, 2004
    i am still a beginner. Should i choose a teacher that will emphasize on sight reading and notes more by having me practice on meaningless complicated notes or one that will teach me by forgetting about sight reading and having me play the basslines of easy songs and teaching me the role of the bass in a band?(the first one is more of a jazz bassist while the other one is a rock bassist)
    Personally i find the 2nd teacher more fun but less rewarding

2. Hello Brahim,

The easy answer is find a third teacher who is an all rounder and teaches all aspects of bass playing...so you'll become invincible!!! :bassist:

But in the end, go for what your heart tells you to do.

3. Oh, I also forgot to mention. Since your only starting, its good to have in mind that you can still switch the roads that you're on further down the track if that need be.

4. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Although I would tend to agree with Guitarrista - get a third teacher who can mix it up and make learning the important stuff fun - I do have some comments:

1. A teacher that just shows you bass lines does not let you learn how to develop your own lines. It is great if all you ever want to play is those cover tunes - really sucks if you want to develop an original voice, originaly lines.